

MINUTES KEIZER CITY COUNCIL Virtual WORK SESSION Monday, October 10, 2022 Keizer, Oregon

CALL TO
ORDERMayor Clark called the work session to order at 6:01 p.m. Attendance was
taken as follows:

Present:

Cathy Clark, Mayor Dan Kohler, Councilor Kyle Juran, Councilor Roland Herrera, Councilor Shaney Starr, Councilor Laura Reid, Councilor Elizabeth Smith, Councilor

Staff Present:

Adam Brown, City Manager Tim Wood, Assistant City Manager/Finance Director Shannon Johnson, City Attorney John Teague, Police Chief Andrew Copeland, Police Bill Lawyer, Public Works Director Tracy Davis, City Recorder

DISCUSSION Ryan Matthews, Administrator for Marion County Health and Human Services, opened the presentation. Program Manager, Anne Marie Banfield, a. Marion County explained what the Mobile Crisis Teams have been doing and introduced Debbie Wells and Anne Oscilla, part of the Crisis Management Team who **Mobile Crisis** shared their duties and experiences on the team, provided additional Unit information and fielded questions regarding staffing; other jurisdictions; expansion of services; other programs, services and billings; barriers between drug, alcohol and mental health; the importance of meeting the people in need where they are so that they don't have to be taken somewhere else to be served; detox programs; recruiting challenges; and mental health first aid. They explained that Keizer would need to commit a full time employee and a car to fully participate in the program. Discussion followed on possible alternate funding options and collaborating with the City to apply for a mental health grant.

Chief Teague explained the benefits of this program, the increased need which is becoming unmanageable, and the importance of having all the tools necessary. He added that this is a phenomenal program that the Keizer PD uses almost every day.

ADJOURN Mayor Clark adjourned the work session at 7:04 p.m.

APPROVED:

MAYOR:

Cathy Clark COUNCIL	Debbie Lockhart, Deputy City Recorder MEMBERS
Councilor #1 – Laura Reid	Councilor #4 – Roland Herrera
Councilor #2 – Shaney Starr	Councilor #5 – Elizabeth Smith
Councilor #3 – Kyle Juran Minutes approved: 11-07-22	Councilor #6 – Daniel R. Kohler